top of page

Angel Olsen Announces New Album & New Single "Whole New Mess"

*Cuts bangs shorter*

Photo by: Kylie Coutts

The soft rock indie queen is back to make you weep with her latest single "Whole New Mess." After sending us to heaven with All Mirrors and nationwide tour, Angel Olsen is delivering her new work completely solo. This is the first material she has released without any bandmates since 2012's Half Way Home.

Olsen recorded "Whole New Mess" in October 2018 at The Unknown, the church-turned-studio run by Phil Elverum and Nicholas Wilbur in Anacortes, Washington. The album will feature more intimate versions of several songs that appeared on last year’s All Mirrors. Olsen explained her approach in a brief statement:

I had gone through this breakup, but it was so much bigger than that—I’d lost friendships, too. When you get out of a relationship, you have to examine who you are or were in all the relationships. I wanted to record when I was still processing these feelings. These are the personal takes, encapsulated in a moment.

“Whole New Mess” by Angel Olsen from her upcoming album ‘Whole New Mess’, out August 28 on Jagjaguwar.

Whole New Mess

1. Whole New Mess

2. Too Easy (Bigger Than Us)

3. (New Love) Cassette

4. (We Are All Mirrors)

5. (Summer Song)

6. Waving, Smiling

7. Tonight (Without You)

8. Lark Song

9. Impasse (Workin’ for the Name)

10. Chance (Forever Love)

11. What It Is (What It Is)

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page